No More Sitting on Babies!!

In my daily perusal of Yahoo, I came across an article about a Mother in Michigan who was threatened by the Michigan Department of Human Services because she watches about three neighborhood children for an hour each morning while they wait for the bus, the school bus stop being located in front of her house.  I kid you not!!  Here are the first few sentences of the article, written by James Prichard, an Associated Press writer:

“IRVING TOWNSHIP, Mich. – Each day before the school bus comes to pick up the neighborhood’s children, Lisa Snyder did a favor for three of her fellow moms, welcoming their children into her home for about an hour before they left for school.  Regulators who oversee child care, however, don’t see it as charity. Days after the start of the new school year, Snyder received a letter from the Michigan Department of Human Services warning her that if she continued, she’d be violating a law aimed at the operators of unlicensed day care centers.”

Yep, the world has gone mad!!  Or at least, our little slice of the world, here in Michigan, has.  I mean, come on people, have we really got nothing better to do, than to call the authorities on a mother who is trying to help out other parents in this terrible economy?  I mean, seriously, had someone told me about this occurrence, and not followed it up with proof, I would have called shenanigans and all forms of hijinks!!  But, alas, I read this article with my own two eyes.  I must admit, I still have the feeling of my chain being yanked, but I guess I have to say that this is real.  Lisa Snyder, also thought that this was outrageous, as did the other parents that she was helping.  Needless to say, the officials have been contacted and the laws that she was breaking are being reconsidered as we speak.  My problem with the whole situation is that she was reported by one of her neighbors.  That’s right, one of the people that live near her, who apparently needs a hobby.  I mean seriously, are you kidding me, anonymous whistle blower!?!?  Your whistle blowing privileges are hereby taken, please relinquish them peacefully!!  (Is it just me or is this reminiscent of that Sponge Bob Square Pants episode where He got the conch shell as a cereal box prize that alerts Mermaid Man and Barnacle Boy of evil doing, and was signaling them to open pickle jars and the like?)  Anyway, this whole situation is silly.  I commend Lisa for being a good person, and I hope this law is on its way down the tubes.  Over and Out.lol

About Kim

I am a writer, who loves God, my family, and my friends. I try to treat eveyone the way I want to be treated, and write inspiration for anyone who'll read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

